PSE Index (PSEi) composition, as of May 2011

Back in 2007, we wrote about the revised criteria of the Philippine Stock Exchange (PSE) with regard to companies that will be included in the Philippine Stock Exchange Index (PSEi) or Philippine Composite Index.

The PSEi, formerly known as the Phisix, is composed of 30 publicly-listed Philippine stocks selected to represent general movement of market prices and is generally regarded as one of the indicators of the general state of the Philippine economy.

(Update: New PSEi composition, as of September 2011)

PSEi Composition Criteria

Companies must meet three (3) criteria before they are included in the index:

  1. The company’s free float level should be at least 12%, up from the previous 10% requirement. The free float level is the number of shares available to third-party investors. This new criteria effectively requires PSEi index companies to have more shares that are owned by the investing public.
  2. The company must rank among the top 25% in terms of median daily value in nine out of the twelve-month period in review. This ultimately requires PSEi stocks to have a certain level of trading volume that makes it liquid. This is a change from the current rule of fixed P5 million average daily trading value.
  3. The ranking of qualified companies should be based on full market capitalization instead of float market capitalization.

A Reserve List is also going to be established which will become a replacement pool of stocks that can substitute for companies that may be removed from the index.

PSEi Composition, as of May 2011

As of the latest index recomposition done in May, the Philippine Stock Exchange index (PSEi) is composed of the following 30 stocks:

  1. Aboitiz Equity Ventures (AEV)
  2. Aboitiz Power (AP)
  3. ABS–CBN Corporation (ABS)
  4. Alliance Global Group, Inc. (AGI)
  5. Ayala Corporation (AC)
  6. Ayala Land (ALI)
  7. Banco de Oro Unibank, Inc. (BDO)
  8. Bank of the Philippine Islands (BPI)
  9. DMCI Holdings (DMC)
  10. Energy Development Corporation (EDC)
  11. Filinvest Land (FLI)
  12. First Gen Corporation (FGEN)
  13. First Philippine Holdings Corporation (FPH)
  14. Globe Telecom (GLO)
  15. International Container Terminal Services Inc. (ICT)
  16. JG Summit Holdings (JGS)
  17. Jollibee Foods Corporation ( JFC)
  18. Lepanto Consolidated Mining Company (LC / LCB)
  19. Manila Electric Company (MER)
  20. Manila Water Company (MWC)
  21. Megaworld Corporation (MEG)
  22. Metro Pacific Investments Corporation (MPI)
  23. Metropolitan Bank and Trust Company (MBT)
  24. Philex Mining Corporation (PX)
  25. Philippine Long Distance Telephone Company (TEL)
  26. Robinsons Land Corporation (RLC)
  27. Security Bank Corporation (SECB)
  28. SM Investments Corporation (SM)
  29. SM Prime Holdings (SMPH)
  30. Universal Robina Corporation (URC)

The PSEi is revised twice a year. Starting this year, the recomposition periods are in March and September, revised from the previous May and November schedule. Thus, the new PSEi member-stocks, if any, will be announced in September 2011.

Related reading:

About the Author

PSEi support seen at 6,200 and 6,000 amid weaker Peso

In a not-so-surprising move, the U.S. Federal Reserve (Fed) yesterday raised interest rates by 75 basis points (bps) or 0.75% in a bid to tame rising inflation in the United States. This was the third consecutive 0.75% rate hike by the Fed, which brings the federal funds rate, the central bank’s benchmark interest rate, to ... Read more

Official SWIFT Code of BDO, BPI, Metrobank, Philippine banks

When sending cash remittances or wire transfer to a bank account in the Philippines (such as BDO, BPI, Metrobank, Landbank, DBP, etc.), you’ll surely need the SWIFT Code of the bank. Look no further because you can find all the SWIFT Codes you need in this list! Make sure you’re using the right bank code ... Read more

How to Waive your Credit Card Annual Fee (BDO, BPI, Metrobank, RCBC, Citibank, UnionBank)

Without a doubt, one of the most annoying fees that credit cardholders have to pay is the annual fee. Majority of cardholders are familiar with this fee and majority of us likely pay this grudgingly year after year after year. In the case of my credit card with BPI (Bank of the Philippine Islands), I’m ... Read more

Why Filipinos do not become business owners or entrepreneurs

For a majority of Filipinos, entrepreneurship does not seem to be a typical, expected path. This is not surprising, considering that in school, students are primarily taught to become employees after graduation. Students train for years to become staff workers, reporting to a supervisor, and just waiting to receive their wages or salaries every month. ... Read more

My experience investing in Mutual Funds in the Philippines

I started investing in mutual funds when I was 22 years old. As an Overseas Filipino Worker (OFW) then, I was fortunate to be able to save some money at that young age because of my work abroad. One time while I was on vacation in the Philippines, I saw a large billboard in EDSA ... Read more

Income Tax Tables in the Philippines (2022)

The Philippines’ new tax reform bill, known as TRAIN or Tax Reform for Acceleration and Inclusion, was signed into law on December 19, 2017 and its implementation began on January 1, 2018. What are the new income tax rates under the TRAIN law? How will TRAIN affect income taxes of individuals and corporations? How is the ... Read more

PSE Stocks Performance under each Philippine President (1987-2021)

Did you know that Philippine stocks were able to achieve an astounding growth of 800% in a span of 30 years? From 1987 until 2018, the Philippine Stock Exchange index (PSEi) rose from 1,000 points to a peak of 9,000 points — generating a return of 800% over 30 years. (The PSEi is an index ... Read more

SSL 2022: Salary Increases for Teachers, Nurses, Gov’t Employees

Good news to all government employees! There’s a new round of salary increases beginning January 1, 2022! Millions of employees of the Philippine government — including public school teachers, nurses and staff of government hospitals, and workers in local and national government agencies, etc. — will be getting an automatic salary adjustment this 2022 under ... Read more

PSE Trading Hours in 2022: What time open, when closed?

Before you take the plunge into stock trading and investing, make sure you understand what stocks are and how the Philippine Stock Exchange (PSE) operates. Unlike other investments that are relatively safe, stock trading is risky and loss of money is a possibility. So before you deep dive into the exciting world of stock trading, ... Read more

Price Floor and Price Ceiling of PSE Stocks

Trading bands in the PSE come in two forms: Price Ceiling, or the upper price limit, and Price Floor, or the lower price limit.

2 thoughts on “PSE Index (PSEi) composition, as of May 2011”

  1. Hi! It really is my first comment here well, i merely wanted to deliver a quick shout out and inform you I genuinely enjoy studying your posts. Are you able to recommend many other blogs/websites/forums that review identical subjects? Many thanks!


Leave a Comment