'No Classes' announcement – August 9 and 10, 2012

AuManila flood August 2012Several schools, colleges, and universities within and outside Metro Manila have already announced that classes have been suspended on August 9, 2012 (Thursday) and August 10, 2012 (Friday).
On August 9, some schools — including Claret School in Quezon City, Xavier School in Greenhills, San Juan, and De La Salle University in Taft, Manila — already said that there will be no more classes this week and will resume on Monday, August 13.
The Department of Education (DepEd) and Commission on Higher Education (CHED), however, denied reports circulating in social media networks that they have officially announced a Metro-wide suspension of classes until August 10. The two government agencies clarified in their respective Twitter accounts that such rumors are false.
As of this posting, the following educational institutions have officially announced the suspension of their classes, as per report from ABS CBN News and GMA News. We will continue to update this post with recent information when we get them.
Class Suspension announcement- August 10, 2012 (Friday)

(Last Updated: 7 p.m., August 9, 2012):
Cities and Municipalities:
ALL LEVELS (Metro Manila)

  • Caloocan City
  • Marikina City
  • Navotas
  • Paranaque
  • Pasig (except for Barangays Bagong Ilog, Pineda, Kapitolyo, Ugong, Orambo, and San Antonio)
  • Pasay City
  • Pateros
  • Quezon City
  • Taguig City
  • San Juan
  • Muntinlupa


  • Manila (public schools)
  • Malabon
  • Mandaluyong
  • Valenzuela
  • Makati


  • Malolos, Bulacan
  • Angeles City (all levels)
  • Pampanga (all levels)
  • San Mateo Rizal (public schools)

Schools, Colleges, and Universities

  • Adamson University (until August 11)
  • Arellano University (preschool to high school only; college level only suspended in Mandaluyong and Malabon branches)
  • Assumption College (all levels)
  • Ateneo de Manila, AGS, AHS, LS, ASMPH, AGSB, and ASOG (Ateneo Law School will resume classes on August 10)
  • Colegio de San Juan de Letran (until August 11)
  • Claret School
  • De La Salle University, Taft, Makati Extension, and Ortigas Extension (classes will resume on August 13)
  • Far Eastern University – Manila, FEU East Asia College, Makati, Cavite, Diliman
  • Harvester’s Mission International School
  • Malabon City University
  • Malabon Polytechnic Institute
  • Miriam College (office work not included)
  • National Teachers College
  • San Beda College of Arts and Sciences
  • Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Valenzuela
  • St. Paul College, Pasig
  • St. Paul University, Quezon City
  • Trinity University of Asia (until August 11)
  • University of Asia and the Pacific
  • University of the East (Manila and Caloocan)
  • University of the Philippines Integrated School (classes will resume on August 13)
  • University of Santo Tomas (until August 11)
  • Valenzuela City Polytechnic College
  • World Citi Colleges
  • Xavier School – Greenhills, San Juan

Class Suspension announcement- August 9, 2012

(Last Updated: 10 p.m., August 8, 2012):
Schools, Colleges, and Universities

  • Adamson University
  • Arellano University (all campuses)
  • Ateneo de Manila University (elementary to college, including graduate school)
  • Central Colleges of the Philippines
  • Centro Escolar University (all campuses)
  • Claret School of Quezon City (until Friday, August 10)
  • De La Salle University – Manila, Makati Extension, and Ortigas Extension (classes and work resume on Monday, August 13)
  • De La Salle – College of St. Benilde
  • Far Eastern University – Manila
  • Far Eastern University – Makati
  • Far Eastern University – East Asia College
  • Far Eastern University – Diliman
  • FEATI University (classes, office work)
  • Jose Rizal University
  • Miriam College (no classes until Friday; office work resumes Friday)
  • National University
  • Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Valenzuela
  • Philippine Christian University
  • Polytechnic University of the Philippines (all campuses)
  • San Beda College – Manila
  • STI College – Taft
  • St. Jude College – Manila
  • Trinity University of Asia (all levels)
  • University of Asia and the Pacific
  • University of the East – Manila
  • University of the East – Caloocan
  • University of the Philippines – Diliman
  • University of Santo Tomas
  • Xavier School (until Friday, August 10)
  • Valenzuela City Polytechnic College

Cities and Municipalities
ALL LEVELS (Metro Manila)

  • Caloocan
  • Las Pinas
  • Makati
  • Malabon (all levels, until Friday, August 10)
  • Mandaluyong
  • Manila
  • Marikina (preschool to high school, until Friday, August)
  • Muntinlupa
  • Navotas
  • Paranaque
  • Pasay
  • Pasig
  • Pateros
  • Quezon City (all levels, until Friday, August 10)
  • San Juan
  • Taguig
  • Valenzuela

ALL LEVELS (Outside Metro Manila)

  • Bataan
  • Bulacan
  • Cavite
  • Rizal
  • Laguna
  • Pampanga
  • Pangasinan
  • Tarlac
  • Zambales

8 thoughts on “'No Classes' announcement – August 9 and 10, 2012”

  1. I think it is better to say that suspension in DLSU is until Saturday instead of saying Friday. Grad school students have Saturday schedules, just so you know.

    1. Thanks Lemir. We checked DLSU’s official Facebook account and the
      announcement there is that classes and work will indeed resume on Monday
      next week, August 13. That means you’re correct, even DLSU graduate school’s Saturday classes are suspended.

  2. I drop a comment every single time I like a write-up on a web site or if I’ve something to valuable to contribute on the conversation. It’s a result from the fire communicated in the publish I browsed. And after reading this report I had been in fact moved enough to drop a comment here

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top