PMT Forum
How do you want to make money today?

Why choose or not choose Union Bank's best uitf fund?

mdejess · 15 · 5553

mdejess

• Forum Master 400
Let us imagine that an investor is the most aggressive and with big money to invest and he wants big quick return.

According to the performance of uitf funds for the first quarter of 2013, Union Bank's Large Capitalization Philippine Equity Portfolio is the quickest and most productive.
http://www.pinoymoneytalk.com/uitf-earnings-returns-1st-quarter-2013/

So, what are we waiting for, put all our excess idle fund in it?

Mdejess

personalfinanceapprentice

• Forum Champion 900
Reply #1 on: May 02, 2013, 01:40 PM
Well, I'm not an expert but I'll try to share my thoughts:

1:Big return = looks like it fits the criteria, since it's very profitable in Q1. However, I've heard of a fund (and I think It's Union Bank's) that has different prices: They use Bid price when redeeming, but Ask price when showing gains. Is this correct? Haven't had actual dealings with the bank, so I'm not sure.

2. Quick return = The one with the shortest holding period is the one that can give the quickest returns. Not sure how long union bank's holding period is.

If you really want big, quick returns, and you're really aggressive... I've heard that forex would be well-suited for such an investor. But that entails a lot of knowledge and some time to really monitor your investment.

If we're confining ourselves to stocks, the way to get the biggest, quickest returns is to pick stocks through technical analysis. From what I hear it can be a mixed bag, depending on how skilled/knowledgeable/experienced you are. Plus it would also require time to monitor your investment.

If it's a fund we're looking for, then Union bank or the other high performing funds would be ok. When i did a casual comparison of some well-known UITFs and Mutual funds, BDO's came up on top.