Top

Paypal survey or phishing scam?

March 23, 2010


Stocks, Mutual Funds, Forex, Finance Philippines
Make Money Online, Stocks, Mutual Funds, Philippines



I received an email today inviting me to answer a Paypal survey. A Sony laptop is at stake once I finished the survey. The invite was sent by customersurvey@survey-take.com and it is supposedly administered on behalf of Paypal.

Of course, I’m wary about these types of emails since I’ve encountered a lot of phishing emails and Paypal scams in the past (another fake Paypal email and Paypal scam here).

I did a little investigation and discovered the email to be somewhat legit.

For one, the survey questionnaire is hosted at www.gmi-mr.com, a duly registered market research agency. In fact, I have previously received a $50 cheque from them by answering their paid online surveys.

Two, I did a little WHOIS check on survey-take.com, the originator of the survey invite and found out that it is again owned by Global Market Insite or GMI (www.gmi-mr.com).

Finally, while answering the survey, I was on the lookout for any question that would ask my personal information, particularly my Paypal password. That would surely be a giveaway that the survey was a phishing scam. Fortunately, there was not even a single question that raised a red flag.

Paypal survey or fake email scam?

Stocks, Mutual Funds, Forex, Finance Philippines


And so I finished the survey and now I’m just hoping — and waiting — to get that Sony notebook prize!

Did you also answer that Paypal survey?

Other Paypal articles:


Get email updates from PinoyMoneyTalk.com

    Topic keywords for this post:

    • paypal survey scam
    • paypal survey phishing
    • surveytakee com
    • Customersurvey@survey-take com

Join the discussion! Post a comment below


  • http://www.mommydiary.net Paula

    Whoa my heart skipped a beat when I read the title because I just answered one yesterday. Glad you thought it’s legit. :)

  • http://www.diabetis.biz Diabetis

    Thanks for warning us!

    From the looks of it, it looks like a scam to me. I never heard of a survey and that they would give yyou a huge prize for just completing a simple survey.
    .-= Diabetis´s latest blog ..Lack of Sleep could cause Diabetes =-.

  • http://jonhappiness.blogspot.com jonha

    Hi James,

    I do not answer surveys, I hate them. It sure look like something legit to me. By the way, I hate the fact that all the comments here are tagged NF. C’mon you’re on the 3rd rank na for “make money online”, share the juice naman. hehe
    .-= jonha´s latest blog ..Carlos Slim, Forbes Richest Man for 2010 =-.

  • need-a-job

    i am not good in blogging, or simply writing, can anyone recommend any
    online job that is not a scam?

    i found this link, http://bit.ly/earn-money-from-web
    but i don’t know if this is legit.

  • http://ipaymentproofs.weebly.com ipayment

    this article is interesting. thank you for writing this one.

  • http://yeahcao.blog.hexun.com yeahcao

    I got an email like this too.
    Is that a cheat?
    .-= yeahcao´s latest blog ..????????XT800????????????????? =-.

  • http://freelancer-snid73.blogspot.com/ snid73

    I also, just received email like this yesterday (same as yeahcao).
    Since this article already 2 months passed, do you won any price???

  • http://www.mp3duke.com Duke

    yea. I too gave the same survey today. Customersurvey”.
    But they ask me like if i work in any ad agency or any of my family member works in bank ? LOL

    It wasnt phishing i hope so.

Bottom