Top

Security Warning email from Google

July 27, 2008


Stocks, Mutual Funds, Forex, Finance Philippines
Make Money Online, Stocks, Mutual Funds, Philippines



Yesterday I received a “Security Warning” email supposedly from Google and I must say that if I didn’t know better, I would have been the next victim of this phishing scam.

Here’s a copy of the email.

from GoogleTeam <security@google.com.>
date Sat, Jul 26, 2008 at 12:33 PM
subject Security Warning

Your account has been randomly flagged in our system as a part of our routine security measures. This is a must to ensure that only you have acces and use of your Google account and to ensure a safe Gmail experience. We require all flagged accounts to verify their information on file with us.

This is the right link for edit account page

After you verify your information, your account shall be returned to good standing and you will continue to have full use of your account. Please note that if you don’t verify your ownership of account in 2 x 24 hours we will suspend your Google account.

Thanks,

Stocks, Mutual Funds, Forex, Finance Philippines


The Gmail Team

Note that the sender of the mail is security@google.com — a nice ploy used by these phishers but take note that there are mail-sending programs now that can mask the original email address of the sender and can show a different one just like in the example above.

One giveaway that this email is fake is the link to the “edit account page” which goes to http://www.ac-google.com/accounts/EditAccountservice/ (FAKE SITE! DON’T VISIT!)

If Google really wants us to edit our account, we would be directed to a Google.com domain, not a dubious site such as AC-Google.com.

If you checked on the link (which I advise you not to), you’ll see a site that looks like an official Google page. However, asking for your Google Account password is definitely not so Google and that ultimately led me to believe that this is a phishing email. Official websites WILL NOT normally ask you to give them your password. That is just plain, old phishing scam.

What is phishing?

Phishing is a type of deception designed to steal one’s personal data such as credit card numbers, passwords, account login information, etc. The phishing email usually looks like an official letter from a trusted source, such as a bank, credit card company, payment processor, or online merchant. Phishing emails normally direct recipients to a fraudulent website where they are asked to provide personal information. This information is then used for identity theft.

Other examples of spoof emails in the past are in our Phishing Emails collection.


Get email updates from PinoyMoneyTalk.com

    Join the discussion! Post a comment below


    • http://telebisyon.net Zanjoe

      Thanks for the warning. :-)

    • http://www.filunited.com ritch

      Registrar: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC.
      Status: clientRenewProhibited
      Dates: Created 24-jul-2008 Updated 26-jul-2008 Expires 24-jul-2009
      DNS Servers: NS1.ABIMCO.COM NS2.ABIMCO.COM NS5.ABIMCO.COM

      I was referred to whois.wildwestdomains.com; I’m looking it up there.

      The data contained in this Registrar’s Whois database,
      while believed by the registrar to be reliable, is provided “as is”
      with no guarantee or warranties regarding its accuracy. This information
      is provided for the sole purpose of assisting you in obtaining
      information about domain name registration records. Any use of
      this data for any other purpose is expressly forbidden without
      the prior written permission of this registrar. By submitting an
      inquiry, you agree to these terms of usage and limitations of warranty.
      In particular, you agree not to use this data to allow, enable, or
      otherwise make possible, dissemination or collection of this data, in
      part or in its entirety, for any purpose, such as the transmission of
      unsolicited advertising and solicitations of any kind, including spam.
      You further agree not to use this data to enable high volume, automated
      or robotic electronic processes designed to collect or compile this data
      for any purpose, including mining this data for your own personal or
      commercial purposes.

      Please note: the owner of the domain name is specified in the “registrant” field.
      In most cases, the Registrar is not the owner of domain names listed in this database.
      found this info about the ac-google.com

      Registrant:
      gary bennett
      residencial motor grande 24 27 vivendas
      puerto rico, Las Palmas 35130
      Spain

      Registered through: Cheap Domain Names
      Domain Name: AC-GOOGLE.COM
      Created on: 24-Jul-08
      Expires on: 25-Jul-09
      Last Updated on: 26-Jul-08

      Administrative Contact:
      bennett, gary **********@yahoo.com
      residencial motor grande 24 27 vivendas
      puerto rico, Las Palmas 35130
      Spain
      +34 928153147 Fax —

      Technical Contact:
      bennett, gary **********@yahoo.com
      residencial motor grande 24 27 vivendas
      puerto rico, Las Palmas 35130
      Spain
      +34 928153147 Fax —

      Domain servers in listed order:
      NS1.ABIMCO.COM
      NS2.ABIMCO.COM
      NS5.ABIMCO.COM

    • http://didyouknow.blogsome.com Did You Know?

      fake talaga mga yan. wag kayo maniwala…they will get your usernames and passwords

    • http://just-robert.com Robert Mancelita, Jr.

      Nice one! Everytime I see this kind of e-mail, I would really look up first the address that was given to me. Anyway, good thing you haven’t been victimed. :)

    • http://www.vbignacioworks.com vbignacio

      the site is now a parked page.

    • http://www.ausfuhrung.com bruce pall

      thanks for the warn.

    • abimco

      This domain is not on our server please, see the who is:
      Domain Name: AC-GOOGLE.COM
      Registrar: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC.
      Whois Server: whois.wildwestdomains.com
      Referral URL: http://www.wildwestdomains.com
      Name Server: NS09.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
      Name Server: NS10.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
      Status: clientDeleteProhibited
      Status: clientRenewProhibited
      Status: clientTransferProhibited
      Status: clientUpdateProhibited
      Updated Date: 28-jul-2008
      Creation Date: 24-jul-2008
      Expiration Date: 24-jul-2009

    Bottom