Security Warning email from Google
Juli 27, 2008
Yesterday I received a “Security Warning” email supposedly from Google and I must say that if I didn’t know better, I would have been the next victim of this phishing scam.
Here’s a copy of the email.
from GoogleTeam <security@google.com.>
date Sat, Jul 26, 2008 at 12:33 PM
subject Security Warning
Your account has been randomly flagged in our system as a part of our routine security measures. This is a must to ensure that only you have acces and use of your Google account and to ensure a safe Gmail experience. We require all flagged accounts to verify their information on file with us.
This is the right link for edit account page
After you verify your information, your account shall be returned to good standing and you will continue to have full use of your account. Please note that if you don’t verify your ownership of account in 2 x 24 hours we will suspend your Google account.
Thanks,
The Gmail Team
Note that the sender of the mail is security@google.com — a nice ploy used by these phishers but take note that there are mail-sending programs now that can mask the original email address of the sender and can show a different one just like in the example above.
One giveaway that this email is fake is the link to the “edit account page” which goes to http://www.ac-google.com/accounts/EditAccountservice/ (FAKE SITE! DON’T VISIT!)
If Google really wants us to edit our account, we would be directed to a Google.com domain, not a dubious site such as AC-Google.com.
If you checked on the link (which I advise you not to), you’ll see a site that looks like an official Google page. However, asking for your Google Account password is definitely not so Google and that ultimately led me to believe that this is a phishing email. Official websites WILL NOT normally ask you to give them your password. That is just plain, old phishing scam.
What is phishing?
Phishing is a type of deception designed to steal one’s personal data such as credit card numbers, passwords, account login information, etc. The phishing email usually looks like an official letter from a trusted source, such as a bank, credit card company, payment processor, or online merchant. Phishing emails normally direct recipients to a fraudulent website where they are asked to provide personal information. This information is then used for identity theft.
Other examples of spoof emails in the past are in our Phishing Emails collection.






Juli 27th, 2008 at %H:%M
Thanks for the warning. :-)
Juli 27th, 2008 at %H:%M
Registrar: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC.
Status: clientRenewProhibited
Dates: Created 24-jul-2008 Updated 26-jul-2008 Expires 24-jul-2009
DNS Servers: NS1.ABIMCO.COM NS2.ABIMCO.COM NS5.ABIMCO.COM
I was referred to whois.wildwestdomains.com; I’m looking it up there.
The data contained in this Registrar’s Whois database,
while believed by the registrar to be reliable, is provided “as is”
with no guarantee or warranties regarding its accuracy. This information
is provided for the sole purpose of assisting you in obtaining
information about domain name registration records. Any use of
this data for any other purpose is expressly forbidden without
the prior written permission of this registrar. By submitting an
inquiry, you agree to these terms of usage and limitations of warranty.
In particular, you agree not to use this data to allow, enable, or
otherwise make possible, dissemination or collection of this data, in
part or in its entirety, for any purpose, such as the transmission of
unsolicited advertising and solicitations of any kind, including spam.
You further agree not to use this data to enable high volume, automated
or robotic electronic processes designed to collect or compile this data
for any purpose, including mining this data for your own personal or
commercial purposes.
Please note: the owner of the domain name is specified in the “registrant” field.
In most cases, the Registrar is not the owner of domain names listed in this database.
found this info about the ac-google.com
Registrant:
gary bennett
residencial motor grande 24 27 vivendas
puerto rico, Las Palmas 35130
Spain
Registered through: Cheap Domain Names
Domain Name: AC-GOOGLE.COM
Created on: 24-Jul-08
Expires on: 25-Jul-09
Last Updated on: 26-Jul-08
Administrative Contact:
bennett, gary **********@yahoo.com
residencial motor grande 24 27 vivendas
puerto rico, Las Palmas 35130
Spain
+34 928153147 Fax —
Technical Contact:
bennett, gary **********@yahoo.com
residencial motor grande 24 27 vivendas
puerto rico, Las Palmas 35130
Spain
+34 928153147 Fax —
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.ABIMCO.COM
NS2.ABIMCO.COM
NS5.ABIMCO.COM
Juli 27th, 2008 at %H:%M
fake talaga mga yan. wag kayo maniwala…they will get your usernames and passwords
Juli 29th, 2008 at %H:%M
Nice one! Everytime I see this kind of e-mail, I would really look up first the address that was given to me. Anyway, good thing you haven’t been victimed. :)
August 5th, 2008 at %H:%M
the site is now a parked page.
August 7th, 2008 at %H:%M
thanks for the warn.
September 14th, 2008 at %H:%M
This domain is not on our server please, see the who is:
Domain Name: AC-GOOGLE.COM
Registrar: WILD WEST DOMAINS, INC.
Whois Server: whois.wildwestdomains.com
Referral URL: http://www.wildwestdomains.com
Name Server: NS09.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Name Server: NS10.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Status: clientRenewProhibited
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Status: clientUpdateProhibited
Updated Date: 28-jul-2008
Creation Date: 24-jul-2008
Expiration Date: 24-jul-2009