We've heard it before — even straight from StudioTraffic moderators themselves — that the now-defunct and now-a-scam program StudioTraffic (also "Studio Traffic" or simply "ST") was being investigated by the FBI. Today I received mail from the Internet Crime Complaint Center (www.ic3.gov) that seemed to officially confirm this.
The letter from IC3 goes:
Dear (my full and real name here):
Studiopay/Studiotraffic is the subject of an ongoing investigation by the FBI and Onondaga County Sheriffs Department. Investigation of this matter has developed information that you have had financial transactions with one, or both, of these companies. If you have been victimized by either of these companies please file a complaint with the Internet Crime Complaint Center at the following website:
http://www.ic3.gov/
Please reference Studiopay as the subject of the investigation when filing your complaint. Provide as much detail as possible pertaining to monies invested, individuals contacted, method of contact (telephone, mail, E-mail etc…), amounts, and dates of payment and any amounts received from Studiopay. If possible, include dates of contact, the Studiopay employees contacted and brief summaries of the conversations.
Of course, I had to check first whether this was a genuine IC3 letter. The email header seems to prove this. Part of the header goes:
Received: from smtp.ic3.gov (smtp.ic3.gov [151.205.1.16])
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of no-reply@ic3.gov designates 151.205.1.16 as permitted sender)
Checking the IP address shows this:
IP Information: 151.205.1.16
IP Location: United States - Virginia - Richmond - National White Collar Crime Center
Reverse DNS: smtp.ic3.gov
Also, the mail addressed me using my full and real name. I don't think there's any way for IC3 to associate me with StudioTraffic or Studio Pay (SP), unless they have information that ST or SP used to own. Like the rest of ST and SP members, I divulged my personal information when we were asked to verify our accounts, especially the StudioPay account. It appears IC3 is now in possession of this ST or SP database.
(more…)