Registerflies.com - a phishing website?




A customer gripe site or a phishing site?

Registerflies.com, a site put up to document complaints of customers of the hosting company RegisterFly, is recognized by the browser Internet Explorer as a phishing website, when accessed via the link http://registerflies.com (see screenshot below).



* These ads open in a new window. *

Registerflies.com - a phishing site?

However, accessing the site with a www prefix (http://www.registerflies.com) does not show the "Suspicious website" warning.

Mozilla Firefox does not give a "Phishing Site" warning either, even when accessed with or without the www prefix.

Anyone has an explanation why this is the case?



--------------------

Get hundreds of popular magazines, webinars and podcasts about SEO, Internet, Finance and Telecoms -- all available FREE OF CHARGE!

Check out these related posts:

2 Responses to “Registerflies.com - a phishing website?”

  1. MyAvatars 0.2
    Comment #2
    pinoymoneytalk Says:

    @ewancoo, your comment was marked as spam by Akismet and I manually allowed it that’s why it appeared only now. Anyway, you mean registerfly.com and not regiterfly.com? Possible, but RegisterFlies.com did not copy the domain registrar’s site in any way (unless they did and then just changed the layout afterwards). They’re not selling anything in the site either. That’s why I found it weird.

    Latest update: The IE Phishing Website warning does not show up anymore.

  2. MyAvatars 0.2
    Comment #1
    ewancoo Says:

    Maybe IE has detected it as a spoof of the more popular regiterfly.com.

Got something to say?


Security Code

Security Image

Keyword Tags

Advertisements